Thanks to Erin Klein, an educator and blogger I subscribe to and follow on Twitter, I learned two things today: what a flipped classroom is and what an infographic is.
I was scrolling through some of Erin's blog posts and came across one that's titled The Foundations of Flipping.  Through various other websites and through the #elemchat discussion I took part in last Saturday, I have seen the phrase 'flipped classroom' quite often, but I never really got around to looking up what it means.  I'll be honest, sometimes I just don't feel like reading through a bunch of text or listening to someone talk in a video to try to find out what something means - sometimes my attention span just isn't long enough.  But as soon as I saw Erin's post on flipping I was immediately drawn to it because she had this nicely organized, colourful infographic embedded onto her page:
Flipped Classroom

Created by Knewton and Column Five Media

It didn't take me long to read and I was able to retain the information I had just read (which doesn't always happen!)  The combination of easy-to read titles, bulleted text, and cleverly incorporated pictures and graphs made learning about flipped classrooms so much more fun!  What can I say, I guess I'm a visual learner.  

Here's a link to a site that gives you tips on how to create your own infographics.

As for flipped classrooms, it's obvious from the statistics on this infographic that there is a need for them.  I can definitely see the value in students having more class time to practice and master concepts, because they've already learned the theories behind those concepts from watching online videos at home.  My only concern is if a flipped classroom could work for students who come from low income families.  Could teachers allow students who do not have internet access outside of school to watch their online homework during other class-times (aka pull them out)?  How could a teacher prevent low income students from being marginalized for not having the same access to technology as other students?  
5/23/2012 12:40:02 pm

I totally agree, I was placed in a community school with many low income families in the school for my pre-internship in March and we couldn't assign homework because many of the students had other responsibilities at their homes to take care of. I assigned a couple little things for the students during the evening and they came back either not doing it because they had something else to do or they came back very tired (if they came to school at all). I think the flipped classroom would be fabulous if you had a classroom that was able to do homework every night but the classrooms I've had experience in it would be very difficult.

Reply



Leave a Reply.