One of the things I miss the most about living in Winnipeg is being able to go to my all-time favourite restaurant - Olive Garden - anytime I want (sigh.)  
I practically lived off of their unlimited salad and breadsticks during the five years I lived there. In my opinion, no Regina restaurant even comes close to Olive Garden's quality or taste.  So, not too long ago, I took matters into my own hands and googled Olive Garden recipes.  Thankfully, I came across this video that shows you how to make your own Olive Garden salad dressing.  
The homemade dressing in no way looks the same as what you get at Olive Garden, but it sure tastes the same! And, instead of mixing all of the ingredients in a bowl like in the video, I use my magic bullet - it does a great job dicing everything up and clean-up is much easier this way!  
 
Here's a transcribed copy of the recipe from this video with a few of my own suggestions added in:

1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/3 cup white vinegar
1 teaspoon vegetable oil (but seeing this is Olive     
   Garden, and all, I use olive oil)
2 tablespoon corn syrup
2 tablespoon Parmesan cheese
2 tablespoon Romano cheese
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt (or one garlic clove, minced)
1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
1/2 teaspoon parsley flakes
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon sugar (optional)
Olive Garden's website also has a link to some of their most popular recipes.  If I can ever pry myself away from the salad long enough, I'll have to give them a whirl.  Now I realize that having what some may call, "knock-off Olive Garden" at home may not compare to the actual experience of dining at the Olive Garden, but it sure beats having to drive six hours everytime I get a craving for it.  And, with a little help from my good friend, Pavarotti, I can always pretend I'm there.  



Leave a Reply.