Picture
Hello, my name is Denine ("Hi Denine...") and I am an addict.  Two years ago, after I bought a Magic Bullet blending system, I started experimenting with various combinations of fruits and vegetables.  
Now, I am hooked... on smoothies.  I can't go a day without one.  If I do, I get really anxious and start to think of how I can get my fix.  

The one smoothie that I am absolutely powerless against (aka my go-to smoothie of choice) has:  

 1  banana
1/2 cup frozen cranberries
4-6 frozen strawberries (depending on their
      size)
1/2 cup frozen spinach
1/2 cup orange juice
1/2 cup cranberry juice 

... you can get about seven hits of fruit and vegetable servings from it, which is what Canada's Food Guide says is a safe daily amount.  Plus, it makes me feel really, really good.  Even LiveStrong.com is in on the whole smoothie deal.

If you have a smoothie addiction, could you please hook a sister up with your recipes? We don't have to remain anonymous here ;)
5/26/2012 08:46:05 am

I too am a smoothie addict. Here are a few of my favourite recipes:

Blueberry-Flaxseed Shake
4-6 Ice Cubes
1/2 cup Blueberries
2 tsp Organic Agave Nectar
1 tbsp Ground Flaxseed
1 cup Cold Water
1 scoop Vanilla Whey Protein Powder
1 tsp Cinnamon
1/4 Banana
1/2 tbsp Flaxseed Oil

Just blend in your Magic Bullet!

Fruity Tofu Smoothie
1/2 cup Fresh or Frozen Fruits
1/2 cup Orange Juice
1/4 cup Silken or Soft Tofu
1/4 cup Yogurt
1/2 Banana

Blend in your Magic Bullet!

Kéfir Smoothie
1 cup Plain Kéfir
1 cup Frozen Berries
1 tbsp Flaxseed Oil
1 tsp Agave Nectar or 1 pkg Stevia
Top with water

Once again, just blend in your Magic Bullet!

I love making smoothies because they are portable and so versatile. Enjoy!

Reply
5/28/2012 11:01:37 am

Those are a lot more elaborate than the ones I make! Haha. I've heard of people using Agave Nectar in their smoothies but have never been brave enough to try it... now that I know it's good, I will for sure! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.